Michael Bleich, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN

HomeFellows & AlumniList of Alumni2000 AlumniMichael Bleich, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN

  • 2000 Alumni
    Michael Bleich

President - Barnes-Jewish College and Maxine Clark and Bob Fox Dean and Professor

Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College

St. Louis, MO

Michael Bleich is the President of Barnes-Jewish College and the Maxine Clark and Bob Fox Dean and Professor at the Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College.  Previous to this role, he served as the Dr. Carol A. Lindeman Distinguished Professor of Nursing and dean at Oregon Health and Science University. In a career spanning more than 30 years, Dr. Bleich has held positions in academic administration at Mount Senario College and the University of Kansas, where he was Associate Dean for Clinical and Community Affairs in the School of Nursing and Chair for the Department of Health Policy and Management in the School of Medicine. He has held Chief Nursing Officer and Chief Operating Officer roles in acute care and academic-service settings in Wisconsin, Nebraska and Kansas. Additionally, he has experience as a healthcare and academic consultant, both nationally and internationally.  He holds offices in the Council for Graduates of Foreign Schools of Nursing (CGFNS) and the FNINR.

Dr. Bleich's interest areas include workforce issues and trends, academic-service partnership and clinical enterprise development, leadership and strategic development, clinical systems design, and complexity science dynamics. He is an author and speaker on a variety of topics relevant to health career and systems issues. He serves on the editorial boards for the American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Forum, Journal of Nursing Education and the Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing and is a reviewer for several other journals.

Dr. Bleich was a Fellow in the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellows Program (2000 – 2003), a 1996 Fellow in the Johnson & Johnson/Wharton School of Business nurse executive program, and was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing in 2006. He holds memberships in the American Organization of Nurse Executives, the American Nurses' Association, Sigma Theta Tau and the American Assembly for Men in Nursing. Honors include receiving the honorary nursing alumna award from the University of Kansas, being named a "Friend" of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties and the Western Institute of Nursing, the Nebraska "Nurse of the Year," the Humanitarian Award at the University of Minnesota, the John P. McGovern Award, and the Luther Christman Award.  He was appointed to the Joint Commission's Nursing Advisory Committee, the AAMC/AACN Lifelong Learning Invitational Work Group, the Robert Wood Johnson Wisdom at Work task force, AACN's Clinical Nurse Leader Task Force and numerous other councils and working groups.  Most notably, he served on the IOM committee that authored the seminal report, The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.